Too Kool for Kony?

8 Mar

Today I saw this image floating around the Facebook.

At first I just rolled my eyes. Then I thought about it some more. Then I started to comment on someone’s post. Then I realized I had a lot more to say then I thought. Here is the CliffsNotes version:

Regardless of whether or not someone goes on to do anything more than learn about the Kony situation and share the message, is there no inherent value in doing nothing more than just that? That someone might become inspired or motivated to be a part of creating positive change in the world? In someone else’s world, at that?

If someone’s reaction to the video is nothing more than feeling passionate about something other than their own lives, passionate enough to think “Is there ANYTHING I can do?? I’ve never been a part of a social justice movement before, and I don’t know how I’m supposed to do it, but maybe I can give it a go now?” then something great has already been accomplished. All activists, of which there are many, many forms, start somewhere. I think the biggest, the only, accomplishment of putting down those who are sharing this video, wanting to help and be a part of something, is just to discourage further social activism. And frankly, the absolute arrogance of people who are putting down those who are participating in this effort is really pissing me off.

I absolutely understand why people have problems with Invisible Children, and I agree that their lack of transparency is shady, but honestly, rather than tear down a group of people who want nothing more than to have a role in a movement for positive social change, why not respectfully share the facts that you know and allow people to educate themselves and make their own decision on the matter?

2 Responses to “Too Kool for Kony?”

  1. Nicole March 8, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    YES YES YES YES YES!!! Thank you for this Meg! I was feeling exactly the same way.

    Some of the posts tearing down the video obviously didn’t even watch the whole thing themselves. They are claiming the video only focused on Uganda, and then go on to say how Kony isn’t even in Uganda anymore…. yeah, I know, I learned that from that 30 minute video!!!!

  2. Jo March 8, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    Very well said Meg. I have no idea why some people feel the need to spew negative/hateful comments about (probably) everything. I’m a firm believer in if you have nothing nice to say (or constructive) then SHUT THE HELL UP!!
    I had no idea who this guy was until I saw it posted on a friends wall on FB, I cried when I watched the video, then when I started reading some of the things posted it just made me sad. So he’s not in Uganda anymore, WHO CARES. I don’t even care if he wants peace now. What he’s done to so many families, and all those poor kids is dispicable. Eight years ago a family of Sudan refugees came to our area and two of the girls ended up in my girls classrooms. How long this has been going on over there is just not right. It almost overwhelms me how people treat each other so badly.
    You should read “What is the What? (maybe you already have). It’s about a young man’s (lost boy) experience. They don’t call it non-fiction because of what he went thru and his age, some details may not be accurate. It breaks my heart what so many of these poor kids have gone through and to think some are ‘still’ going thru it is unspeakable.

Leave a comment