Adventures in Nowhere Land

29 May

As I type this I am sitting in the passenger seat of my boyfriend’s car, driving down an old twisty road through sweeping pastures and picturesque farmlands. Such a different life from my own. One that I’m sure I’d love, if I grew up that way. But then again, I grew up in a small town and want nothing more than to live in an overpriced, too-small flat in the Big Apple. But in any case, that’s another blog post.

The reason we are driving through the middle of nowhere, is because we wanted to go on an adventure. Randall is slowly becoming an amateur photographer and we both love local history, so we’re off to visit a place called Courthouse Hill (in East Gore, Nova Scotia. I’m not making that name up.) where there used to be the county courthouse, and subsequently hangings. The cool thing about this place is that it is, as the monument there states, a “topographically significant” location. It sits at a fairly high altitude and is ideally located for a view of five counties on a clear day. We’re not there yet, and I’ve never been there before, but it’s a brilliantly sunny day and I’m excited. I imagine the view will be spectacular, if you can see five counties from a single location.

It’s about a 40 minute drive to this place, so you might ask why on earth we would make the trek. Well, because adventure is fun, right? Sometimes there’s nothing better than hopping in the car with great company and driving to random places, learning about them, seeing them for yourself, taking some great photos, and moving on. I don’t imagine this will be the only place we visit today, and I hope it’s not. I enjoy seeing new places and practicing aesthetic photography.

Well, we have arrived, so I will perhaps be back in a bit 🙂

xx

So it was a less spectacular view than I was hoping, but still lovely. We took some pictures, I’ll post a few below. Afterwards we continued driving around the countryside and getting lost, pulling over to take photos and just generally having a good time. After a quick pit stop to buy some soy burgers, we’re on our way to the cottage for a barbeque and perhaps a polar dip. As sunny and warm as it’s been recently, the lake is still too cold for any sane person to consider swimming. Ah well, we all know I’m not 100% sane.

I don’t plan on using this blog as a personal log of my daily activities, but I do want to write as frequently as I can, whether I’ve been thinking about something very significant or not. Perhaps tomorrow the subject matter with be more interesting, but for right now, I’m off to face bikini fears.

xx

One Response to “Adventures in Nowhere Land”

  1. Chelsea June 1, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    the one of you jumping up is such an awesome picture!

    and you didn’t write about nothing! you wrote about your adventure! that’s something!

    keep reading my blog, and you’ll truly know writing about nothing. or, more acurately, reading about nothing. because that is what you’ll be doing. :/

Leave a comment