Summertime, and the livin’ is easy.

31 May

Ok, so maybe not the latter, but it certainly is summertime in the world of Meg.

Summer is when I live. The other seasons often see me down, depressed, and stressed, but rarely does that happen in the summer. As soon as the sunny, warm days start to appear, it’s like someone dropped happy pills into my morning coffee and I can handle anything life wants to throw my way. In fact, in the summer I don’t even need that morning coffee!

Summer is when I am motivated.  I struggle all through the academic year not feeling motivated to do anything, and feeling like I’d rather just hibernate. When the days start getting longer, and I can lie here in my bed, with the window open and the fan on, in a t-shirt and spandex shorts, and the sun still pouring in at 8:30pm, I feel motivated to work, write, make videos, read, go for walks, and all the other things that I should feel motivated to do all year round.

Summer is when I snap back. I always get a burst of energy and excitement in September, when school recommences, which slowly dwindles until November when every year I contemplate dropping out of school. Enough about November. A number of people I have spoken to have suggested that perhaps I have SAD (seasonal affective disorder). Probably. But what is important right now, is that it’s SUMMERTIME! When I feel like I’m myself again. And I’m so, so happy. In fact, that is one of the reasons I decided to start blogging regularly. Not because I think I have anything important to say, or much to say at all really, but because I wanted to. So often in the winter I think of things that I want to do but just don’t bother to because I lack the drive. My attitude in the summer transforms into “You know what? I’m just gonna do it!” So sorry folks, at least for now you’re stuck with me writing here (if you’re a fan of this, you can click the little grey “Yes please :)” button up there in the sidebar to subscribe ;] ).

Getting back to the first line, the livin’ really isn’t easy right now. I have less money than I need to pay my upcoming bills, and no job offers despite the abundance of resumes and applications I have out there. I finally have the time  and motivation to go out and do things with friends and Randall, but no money to do the things I’m invited to do. Here’s to hoping I get a job soon!

It’s kind of shitty but it doesn’t bother me too much because it’s SUMMERTIME and, mentally/emotionally, the livin’ is much easier than it has been. Or at least it’s much easier to live my life 🙂

To steal the catchphrase of my friend, Hannah, I adore you.

Cheers!

xx

2 Responses to “Summertime, and the livin’ is easy.”

  1. Sam May 31, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I hope things get easier for you soon too Meg. I’m not so fussed by the changing of the seasons. In fact there are things about winter I quite like. Not that coming home from work in the light isn’t nice and having warm days is nice on occasion. I think it would be interesting from your point of view to see what changes for you personally in the summer other than being a teacher you have a long break from the stresses that job can bring. Motivation is always an inner resolution to do something. So have a look at what changes within you, and who knows maybe you’ll be waxing your bikini line in November? (or at least not feeling like you want your bed to eat you every moring. 🙂

    • megnorris May 31, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

      Haha!! ❤
      I've been trying to figure it out for years. I honestly feel like it's related to the weather and the sunshine.

Leave a Reply

