Fuck you, rain, I’m gonna have a good day anyway!

1 Jun

Disclaimer: This is FAR too long, and not very interesting. I had a few things I was thinking of writing about today, and told my friend Sam to choose from among the list. He chose for me to write about the good/positive day I’ve had. So I did. I will in no way be offended if you don’t read or comment on this post. Tomorrow I shall explain my intentions for this blog and why I have three sections: Thoughts, Art, and Sex.

Last night I went to bed thinking today was going to be boring, stressful, and/or a waste.

Well. Not so, my friends, not so.  I got up fairly early, for a lazy and unemployed non morning person, and decided that I should probably check the federal job bank website for updates. I did, and was not surprised to see only a few new listings for summer work in Halifax since the last time I checked. Did some research on these jobs and was interrupted by a call from my mom.

She of course told me that I should be getting back in touch with student loans, the university, nagging the places I’ve already applied to for employment–halt. I’ve just realized you probably have no idea why any of this is relevant.

So I got off the phone with my mom, shot off emails in attempts to remedy my current academic/financial fiasco, began feeling rather productive, and applied for a bunch of jobs. Within the hour, I got a call from one of the jobs I was the most interested in–an early childhood educator/assistant position–and have an interview with them on Thursday. I immediately called to tell my mom and 5 seconds into our call I heard the lovely call waiting notification and it was a the museum looking to fill a research assistant position that I applied for at a small local heritage museum rather far away, but I booked the interview nonetheless and that is tomorrow morning.

Called mom back, had a great chat (which never happens) and all before noon!

Once all the semi-boring crap was out of the way, I had a lovely chat with my friend Dome about my money troubles, travel woes, and a SEEKRIT PROJECT, oooh. I then hopped on a bus and went to the nearest public library, which I’d never been to (it’s amazing btw), and borrowed a book I love for said project. Enough about secret project.

Upon returning, I had a message from my aunt (who brought the glasses I’ve been waiting to have fixed, as well as a birthday card from my grandmother, back from New Brunswick) saying that she could bring my glasses by this afternoon. I was obviously quite excited about this. Even though there was no birthday card, it’s great to have the right prescription once again and as I was waiting for her in the lobby, my landlady informed me that there was a package that she signed for me, so that I wouldn’t have to go to the post office (LOVE that woman).  I opened this package and found, as I had expected, my friend Danila’s first published book. I can’t wait to read it. I’ve never read a book written by a friend before.

AS the glasses/package/book thing was happening, I was tweeting at the Museum of Natural History that despite being 23 I was celebrating my birthday there on Sunday. They said I should come back on Tuesday too, when Twitter followers get in for free. I thanked them for the tip and a few minutes later they said “Jeff [whoever that is] says there will be a gift waiting for you behind the new front desk.” …YAY! I LOVE Twitter!

That was a few hours ago. I have somehow been busy ever since, despite having “nothing to do” and I love it. So it’s been raining all fucking day, and I don’t care. Happy places are good. I suppose I should figure out how I’m getting to the middle of nowhere that is the location of my interview in the morning and figure out what the hell I’m going to wear.

Wish me luck!

xx

PS – If you’ve made it this far you deserve some sort of prize that I don’t have. Sorry. I love you. I offer this instead. Cheers!

5 Responses to “Fuck you, rain, I’m gonna have a good day anyway!”

  1. scratchingcat June 1, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Congrats on all the good things that happened today. Good luck with the interviews and thank you for the gift of the warp!

  2. Sam June 1, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Meg how could you think this was a boring post. Its a nice little vignette into your life and whats more a good and happy one. I hope you get one of those jobs Meg you really deserve it. Lifes random nature sometimes does fall in your favour. I make no apoligy to you or your readers about suggesting this topic. The world needs to know that Meg Norris has good days occasionally. oh and Time warp Meg? really? I suppose it could have been worse.lol

  3. allisonrhenline June 1, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Ohh the places you’ll go!!!! sorry always a good time for doctor suess! haha 😉 sounds like a very interesting day. i too am looking for ajob, idk where i can find one yet, i think i have to be +1 year older than i currently am. 😉

    love it meg! 🙂

    Love~allison 🙂

    • megnorris June 1, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

      Enjoy another summer that you don’t have to work. They’ll be hard to come by in the future 🙂

  4. BeneathTheSpinLight June 1, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    I made it to the end of the post AND I was super excited to see the prize was the Time Warp. An awesome post and an awesome video? That’s a double win. 🙂

Leave a Reply

