A birthday, a bass, and a new website underway!

6 Jun

So today’s post comes to you in three brief parts:

1) Today is my birthday. I turned twenty-three. I woke up on a friend’s living room floor with my boyfriend, Randall, and rolled over to my computer/phone to see countless birthday wishes which was lovely. We had a pancake breakfast and played some Rock Band, then we were off the the Museum of Natural History. My choice. It was lovely. The current exhibition is VENOM and I got to see lots of snakes and frogs and arachnids and got to hold a very beautiful king snake.

The four of us (myself, Randall, our friend Adam, and my aunt (which is a misleading term as she is the same age as me) went for lunch at a pub that is in the old home of one of the city’s founders. Then we departed ways, I picked up a mini-cake at the grocery store, and spent the rest of the day geeking out and pigging out in my pyjamas. Nom.

2) Today I got a bass. Well, that’s a half-truth. I didn’t get it physically, the bass is in England, but I have a bass to call my own! Sam got me a bass for my birthday and customized it with personal touches. The catch: I have to go to England to get it! Haha.  I appreciate the time and thought that went into it as well and I still can’t believe he did that for me. Thank you Sam.

3) Today I also received the sweet gift of web hosting! Yay! Thanks Randall! This is something that I have wanted for a while. Well, at least since back in March when I purchased my megnorris.com domain. But now that I have a hosting subscription, I can actually have a website published on the interwebz! I was trying to decide whether I just wanted to use that domain name for this website or create something new, and Randall reminded me that I have my own domain that I can do whatever I want with so why not go for that? Good point babe. For now the site is just a place holder until I develop the rest of it, and I can’t wait. If you have any suggestions on content, pages, theme, anything really, let me know! Or if you know of any websites that might be helpful in giving me tips or ideas. I’m really looking forward to this!

Well, that’s that. I appreciate very much some other lovely ladies *coughlydiaandcharliecough* who are apparently sending me something as well. Post is late and rushed and poopy tonight because it’s been a busy day. I didn’t think any of you would mind.

Now, for my own personal birthday gift… 😉

2 Responses to “A birthday, a bass, and a new website underway!”

  1. scratchingcat June 7, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    I think I have wished you Happy Birthday at least three times today. The magic of multiple virtual connections made it possible.
    I have no clue how specific or how broad your website looks in your head, but you being a teacher I can assure you it will be phenomenal and resourceful.
    As for the bass, the best thing you can do to honor Sam is to play that beauty (the bass, not the Sam) until your fingers go numb.

    • megnorris June 7, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      “the bass, not the Sam” hahaha 🙂

Leave a Reply

