Loneliness and drinking ‘alone’.

11 Jun
They’re sharing a drink they call loneliness, but it’s better than drinking alone. –Billy Joel
This quote brings two aspects of my life to mind. Both relating to the lovely realm of you, my interfriends. You’ve guessed it: loneliness and drinking alone.
Loneliness
I know that some of you have shared my experience of moving to a new city where you know almost no one. If you haven’t had this experience, it sounds like a yeah-that-sucks-but-you’ll-make-new-friends situation. And it is. But it is much more than that. For me, I moved from a city where I was constantly surrounded by people in the same situation as me. A HUGE group of friends and always someone to call, bumping into acquaintances at the cafe, seeing lots of friends at school, living with some of your  best friends. Essentially, not ever having to feel lonely.
When I moved to where I am now, I thought it would be okay at first. I was living with my boyfriend’s two best friends, who I have also been friends with since he moved, and it seemed like it was going to be a fun year. It soon became the regular thing that my roommates spent all their time on their computers, talking to each other through their Xbox headsets, if at all, which meant I began spending more and more time on my computer for lack of anything else to do. This situation became exponentially more true even up until the present. There are days, many , many days, when I don’t even speak to anyone out loud until my boyfriend calls me after work. It is extremely lonely at times. When you have NO ONE (irl) who really understands you. But this whole ordeal led me to meet so many of my best friends. I only started vlogging in September because the situation of no longer having a social life afforded me the opportunity. I only found out about the Guide to Nerdfighting because I had nothing better to do than stumble around the Ning occasionally. I made some of the best friends I could imagine because they stopped existing IRL. So while extreme feelings of loneliness have meant many nights of tears, it has allowed me some of the most cherished aspects of my life that I wouldn’t trade.
Drinking Alone
Now. Because I now have lots of friends online, and love to drink socially, I often find myself drinking (usually more than just one or two) in my room, while having skype chats or watching blogtv. I don’t know if that still counts as drinking alone, or if it means I’m an alcoholic, but again… I don’t think friends IRL would understand. My closest IRL friends do. All two of them, lol. To be quite honest though, I don’t care. I consider socializing with you lot online just as or more fulfilling than having a drink and catching up with my IRL mates 😛
Love you all. xx
4 Responses to “Loneliness and drinking ‘alone’.”

  1. Sam June 11, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    Thanks Meg. Thats really great, I feel the same way. I can only imagine what an existance that is. I had always suspected that it would be lonely living away from home in a place where you don’t know people. I’m really glad we could meet. We’ve grown as close apart as I think we would have if we were roomates. Thats saying something long may it continue. 🙂

    • megnorris June 12, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

      Oh, I’m not lonely because I live away form the traditional idea of “home”. I haven’t lived in my hometown since high school, and this is the first year I have felt lonely. I consider the city where I did my undergraduate degree to be “home”. I miss it deeply.

  2. Lydia-yo. June 12, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    HI.
    I agree with and/or can relate to everything you’ve written in this post.
    I suppose that’s the funny thing about humans; no matter how lonely and isolated we’re feeling, there’s someone out there feeling the same way. And I suppose that’s the magical thing about the interwebz; it lets us find each other.
    AW.
    I think you’re awesome, Meg-Star!

  3. scratchingcat June 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    I absolutely understand where you are coming from. I am living the same thing right now. Well with a little (a lot)less drinking, I am usually still relied upon to drive in emergencies.

Leave a Reply

