Walking with a ghost.

15 Jun

So the other night I was watching ghost/demon movies with some friends and I was getting really creeped out. Like, really spooked. And I think there was more to it than the visual effects or cleverly-placed minor-key notes. Obviously, those were a big part of it, as well as my jumpy/’fraidy-cat nature, but I was lying in bed afterwards actually afraid to be next to the door. Scared to the point of making Randall switch sides with me. I was picturing some entity invisibly approaching me and not even really doing anything other than scaring the shit out of me. I think the reason for this is because on some level, I believe in ghosts.

Not that I ever really didn’t believe in them in some capacity. Ghosts of the dead, angels, spirits, whatever. I only say “on some level” because I don’t feel that I am well enough informed to come to a conclusive decision on the subject. I’ve been really into shows like “Ghost Hunters” and “Unexplained” lately and while I laugh at a lot of it, I generally believe what some people ( ❤ TAPS ) are qualifying, debunking, discovering, and verifying when it comes to ghosts.

I’m not really afraid of the idea of ghosts. I’m only spooked because of the presentation/reputation of ghosts I’m so fond of in horror films. As I sit here typing this I imagine that I’m sharing this room with other entities who reside here, and I’d be okay with that. Although I should probably tidy up since my room isn’t really prepared for guests at the moment. How embarrassing if there are ghosts here. Sorry my pale friends.

I’ve only ever had one major situation of unexplained phenomenon that I can recall. I was in high school and I was home alone. I was hanging out in the kitchen, which had windows everywhere, and it was after dark so I knew that everything outside the windows could see me, but I couldn’t see out because of the reflection. This set a creepy tone to being with. Anyway, I don’t remember exactly what I was doing but I remember that I was standing right next to the telephone when I heard what sounded like boxes being thrown around in the basement. I froze, terrified, and immediately dropped to the floor to avoid the creepy window situation. I sat there, cross-legged, unable to move, and a few minutes later, I heard more banging and crashing. It sounded like someone was really going nuts and throwing heavy boxes all around the basement.

I sat frozen in my cross-legged position with my arms tucked in and my shoulders hunched for about ten minutes, terrified and listening for more sounds. I didn’t hear any so I reached up and called my boyfriend, Curtis, to tell him to get his ass over here because I was fucking terrified. Okay, I didn’t say “fucking” because he didn’t allow swearing. Or fucking. But that’s another story for another day.

Anyway. He showed up about twenty minute later and I still hadn’t moved (and when  finally did I couldn’t go too far anyway because I couldn’t feel my legs and tried walking on my feet while they we folded under, on their side, curled, basically, I sucked). We went for a drive because I needed to get out of the house, and when I calmed down we came back and checked the basement. Nothing was out of place. I thought maybe it could have been an intruder (of the living human variety) but there was only one window in the basement, on the back site of the house, under a short patio, and blocked my overgrown grass and weeds, so unless someone know the window was there, it was unlikely. Also, nothing was missing.

I’ve had a few other experiences in my life that have made me wonder if I was witnessing paranormal activity. Randall has had quite a few unexplainable-by-normal-physics-etc experiences and I believe what he thinks he saw/heard/felt in each situation.  What about you? Have you experienced anything paranormal? Do you believe in ghosts, demons, spirits, angels, whatever you want to cell them?

I love this shit. I’d love to hear your stories if you have them 🙂

xx

6 Responses to “Walking with a ghost.”

  1. scratchingcat June 15, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Sorry Meg, scientist here. I don’t believe in ghosts. I do think that there are things that we can’t quite explain – yet. But I do not jump to the conclusion that if it is not something I readily can explain, it must be ghosts, or the supernatural.

    I think ghost stories are a nice thrill though. It is fun to follow the creepy stereotypes and get spooked in the right places. That is why I love Halloween. But in the end, I do not believe in presences that have no biological manifestation.

    Also in your case, I would have been way more scared of the possibility of an intruder of the very much alive and mean spirited kind and would have called the police.

    • megnorris June 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

      I certainly don’t jump to the conclusion that anything I can’t explain is supernatural. And I imagine if it was a mean-spirited intruder the unlocked basement door and quiet house with no cars in the driveway wouldn’t have stopped them from exploring the rest of the house. Obviously intruder was my first thought. And I’m still looking for the biological manifestation of trust, love, hate, and soul. Can’t seem to find it.

  2. Lydia-yo. June 16, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    This is such a testy area for so many people; it’s like you have to be a hardcore believer or adamant debunker all the way. And I’m seriously taking the middle ground. I don’t know shit about the afterlife, etc…I mean, I do not have the knowledge to prove or disprove anything. And honestly, my approach is not to mess around. I don’t know if there are ghosts or spirits, but I’m not going to run around saying there aren’t. Because that seems rather elitist of us, as humans, to assume we’re the only ones out here. And I also I don’t want to piss them off.

    Furthermore, I believe that if someone has had an encounter (haha, I don’t know if that’s what you call it) it isn’t fair for someone else to show up and discredit it. If it was real to you, if that experience exists in your reality, then fuck the people who try to write you off. I mean, I realize that you aren’t even talking about that in this post…but I just feel so pissed off when the haterzzz do that. lawl.

    I would definitely chat about some ghostly experiences with you…if I hadn’t already written a novel in your comments. AGAIN. (sorry) Also, I want to hear more about Curtis.

    • megnorris June 16, 2010 at 12:41 am #

      I love your long-ass comments 🙂
      I’m on the middle ground too, really. I mean, I believe a lot of what I’ve heard, and I also disbelieve a lot of it. I don’t have the knowledge base to prove anything either way, as you said, I hate the people you’ve described so well. I’m all about being certain of your beliefs but not to the point of being insensitive and, as you said, writing something off.
      Oh, and right now I’m going to add Curtis to the blog schedule portion of the organizational chalkboard on the wall above my head. I kid you not. It’s in the DB lol.

  3. Sam June 17, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Its not the things that go bump on the night, that give one such a terrible fright. Its the hole in each ear that lets in the fear, that and the absense of light.

    -Spike Milligan

    The human mind is acutely attuned to recognising patterns to the point whereby if no pattern exists it forms one around what it observes. This is a very important skill to have when being wary of danger. A false positive recognition might be a waste of time. A false negative might mean you don’t see the sabre-toothed tiger in the underbrush ready to eat you on your way back from hunting and gathering.

    Have you ever thought of someone and then they phone or arrive unexpectedly? It seems significant but you don’t remember all the times you’ve been thinking of someone and then somebody totally different phoned or arrived because…why would you thats normal isn’t it?

    To often when an event is deemed supernatural it is the misfiring of this primeval evolutionary pattern recognition combined with one or more of the following things…..

    Misenterperated evidence. (we’re only human after all nobody’s perfect and soemtimes we don’t have all the facts we need to make a sensible conclusion)

    Invalid causal connections. (following on from the previous item our own beleifs and preconceptions may sometimes cause us to discredit possiblities that don’t seem palatable to us.)

    Prematurely eliminated alternate explanations. (The contention that something is supernatural in the absense of rational explanation is by definition closed minded and contradictory. In a sense what a person is saying is. “I can’t explain something, so I can explain it.”

    People say some things are inexplicable and sometimes equate that with being supernatural whereas what it would be more correct to say is “its unexplained.” because to the rational mind nothing is in inexplicable, just unexplained and when people try and say that nobody can explain it, its senseless because if nobody else had access to the events discribed then how are they supposed to form an unbiased opinion on the matter? Because they have no independant way of investigating the claims made or the details that might have been missed or edited out.

    If I had an experience that I couldn’t explain like somebody disapearing right in front of me I couldn’t and wouldn’t assume it was supernatural or ask anyone else to believe that in the absense of a rational explaination no matter how personally frustrating this might be.

    I do not believe in ghosts, gods, the spiritual or supernatural but I do not claim that they cannot exist (I don’t think it AT ALL likey) unless I encounter a specific claim made about them in which case I will present my reasons for making the the counter claim.

    Ghost stories and movies are fun experiences but we don’t (or at least shouldn’t) take these experiences and translate them into our daily lives. (having said that instances of zombie attacks have remained constant and zero since reocrds began but today in 2010 the fear of them in probably at an all time high.)

    Allowing your beliefs in the supernatural,religion or spirituality to colour how you conduct yourself in the rational, natural world is in my opinion not an endulgence we can afford as a species, or really as individuals. There is too much at stake personally and collectively to give opinions and claims with no rational explaination as much creidance as we give ones that do.

    As Hank Green once said “you’re entitled to your own opinions not your own facts.” This may well hold the record for the longest responce EVER!!! Hope some of you made it through ok.lol

    • Lydia :) June 18, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Hmm, I respect where you’re coming from, Sam. But I don’t know that it’s fair to fault someone for living according to their beliefs. (In reference to your penultimate paragraph.) It’s intersectionality–you can’t remove any one part of your identity from yourself, and thus from the way in which you view and participate in the world. Our gender, race, ethnicity, socio-economic class and religious beliefs…all of these factors create our identities, and it’s literally impossible to separate those out, to choose which factors influence our experience in the world, because they all do. We can and should have our own opinions, and of course facts can’t and shouldn’t be ignored, but the impact they have on our individual lives is going to depend on the culmination, intersection, of identities, and therefore the perception of what those facts mean and how they apply.

      Anyway, I get where you’re coming from. I know I’ve been annoyed more than once when I’ve felt people are ignoring fact in favor of opinion…but it’s important to remember that those same people are likely annoyed by their perception of the way we (we being those outside of their group) ignore fact in favor of our opinion. So while the supernatural, religion and spirituality are completely ridiculous in your opinion and your perception of fact, it’s not fair to discredit those who value the supernatural/religion/spirituality/etc as important factors in their interpretation and perception of facts and opinions.

      I hope that makes sense. Love everyone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

