Blogging. Lots.

1 Aug

SO. Remember that time when I blogged, like, A LOT? Then I kind of just stopped suddenly? Silly me.

Today being August 1st marks the beginning of BEDA or Blog Every Day in August.  I didn’t get involved in BEDA back in April because I didn’t know about it until it was too late, but THIS TIME I decided I wasn’t missing out. I read Lydia‘s and Chelsea‘s BEDA blogs and it seemed like far too much fun to skip out on. They’re also doing BEDA this month and are both brilliant and funny so if you don’t already read their blogs, I highly recommend them.

As for my blog, I’m going to try to continue as I did before, with my three categories and try to switch it up in between them. I think a) that would be more entertaining for any of you who are sweet enough to actually read my blog and b) it forces me to think and plan more in advance for two of the categories 🙂

Today seems like a brilliant day to begin BEDA. I went out with some of the guys last night and we all stayed at my friend Geoff’s apartment and went for breakfast downtown this morning. Now I’m home earlier than I usually am on Sundays and have the apartment to myself. The natural light from the window is more than enough to light my room and it’s so quiet and peaceful that I’m not even turning on a show or music because the sunlight and silence, with the exception of the low, steady whirring of my fan, is so relaxing.

I love these days. Sometimes I forget to just relax and ponder how peaceful things can be. It’s so easy to not do this when the whole world is at your fingertips and you can wile away hours on Twitter and Skype and streaming video. Sometimes just not talking to people is, nice. That sounds awful but I think you probably know what I mean. I hope.

It’s one of the things I love about blogging. It’s not the type of communication where you say something and wait for an immediate response. It’s more like you’re writing for yourself and if someone takes the time to read and respond it’s just a nice gesture. I guess I think of it kind of like the internet’s version of snail mail. Not in the direct communicative sense, but in the sense that there’s something emotionally soothing about conversing in this slower-paced manner. Sorry if I’ve lost you. Sometimes I venture a little too far into my disjointed and leave everyone behind. <– Disclaimer.

I’ll stop this here, and if you’re reading this I encourage you to do BEDA as well, even if it’s longer August 1st. Hope you don’t get sick of me too fast 😛

xx

8 Responses to “Blogging. Lots.”

  1. Sam August 1, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Good luck with this endevour Meg. I understand exactly what you mean about human communication.lol I look forward to being with you when you right the last of these blogs you’re just starting now. 🙂

    Also this website still isn’t regestering that I have a mouse or a keyboard. I’m having to right this in Note pad then copy and paste. No idea why this is but if my responses are a little sporadic you’ll know why.

    • megnorris August 1, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

      That makes NO SENSE. I think you may have some driver issues Sammy.

  2. scratchingcat August 1, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Meg, good luck with your beda. I’m looking forward to reading a lot from you. As for your topic today, I totally agree with you. Alone time is valuable and taking it in mindfully is the best thing you can do with it. We have a lot of distractions from our own mind these days. Sometimes it is best for us to be our own feedback.

    • megnorris August 1, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

      You’re right. I love being really mindful about what I’m doing. Sometimes to a fault haha. Glad you’re doing BEDA too! 🙂

  3. Lydia :) August 1, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    I opened my blinds and turned off my electronics before I went to sleep last night, because I wanted to wake up to the sunlight and not an alarm. Then, I spent the morning reading Jane Eyre (ew–hate it!) in the rocking chair under my window. It was such a lovely, peaceful summer morning…even if I was reading that stupid romance.

    And now, even though my computer is on and it’s turned into an almost miserably hot day, I’m here, reading your fab blog. And that makes me a happy individual. BLAUGUST, huzzah! 🙂

    • megnorris August 1, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

      I always wake up to both haha. I usually wake up before my alarm goes off then lie in bed enjoying it until my alarm goes off. Then reset my alarm. Rinse, repeat. Nom.

      BLAUGUST! I’m EXCITED!

  4. Chelsea August 1, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    first i have to say, YOU ARE SO AWESOME!
    ha! but you knew that! #hotnerdsexy
    i’m SO excited about this!
    and, because we share a brain, yes i totally get what you’re saying about the silence and blogging being this nice slow form of communication. ^_^

    • megnorris August 1, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

      It’s proven to be a rather quick form of communication today but, yeah, it’s nice. I’m also SUPER excited about Blaugust [etc. ;)] #hotnerdsexy

Leave a Reply

