Dream a Little Dream of elephants, boogers, and Felicia Day.

2 Aug

It was a slightly more enjoyable day than usual. We were all just hanging out in the various classrooms within my apartment building, but as it was summer we watched movies and sitcoms on the trolly-housed television sets. I passed by one room where some friends and a few of my favorite teachers were laughing as Janis Ian announced on the screen “Yeah, I’m gonna call you Cady.”  As much as I adore that film and those people, I didn’t stop to join them; I was about to leave for an amazing trip. To Africa.

It was as if no time at all had passed and I found myself riding on the back of an elephant up a narrow road through a seemingly Grecian cliffside village–although the buildings were unfortunately art deco, which destroyed any anticipation that I was, in fact, in a cliffside village in Greece.  The elephants felt surprisingly less out of place.

After our lovely ride, we hopped into small, bright-blue and white inflatable tubes and began paddling into the Indian Ocean. I couldn’t say for sure how long we’d been paddling in our humble donuts but we must have reached an archipelago or another dimension because all of a sudden it was like watching the real-life version of “I Just Can’t Wait to be King” (and I’m NOT talking Broadway style). There were pairs of giraffes and zebras and elephants and lions and ostriches and countless others nuzzling and playing in a massive display in front of us. It was truly incredible.

After appreciating the absolute beauty of the whole experience, we continued on to our destination. We arrived at the white stone building and were greeted by some friendly folks who looked just as happy as us to be there. On the way into the main room where the service was to take place we each cut off a small lock of hair and tossed it into a small pen with three or found young rabbits. They used their hind legs to kick repeatedly which rolled the locks into small bundles and left them neatly tied in tidy stacks. We repeated the procedure with an even tinier lock of hair–just a few strands really–at the back of the room and dropped them into a small terrarium with two miniscule flat-bodied arthropodal creatures with four tiny mosquito-like legs. We marveled at the abilities of these animals and were content know that somewhere, someone without hair of their own would soon have a nice new mane.

We took our seats on the white stone pews and waited for the service to begin. The speaker, Felicia Day, calmly walked up to the space at the front of the room; she walked to smoothly it was almost like she was floating in her white, gold-coined, hindu-esque dress and head piece. She spoke as a guru an love and peace and happiness and after the service, as there were only about twenty of us there, I was fortunate enough to just hang out with her.

As we were chatting she laughed and said “Oh, you’ve got something there” and used her hands to clean off whatever it was that was on my face. I blushed and thanked her and she quickly interjected saying “Oh! And there’s something in your nose.” and immediately, without hesitation, to save me the embarrassment of anyone else noticing, she proceeded to pick it out.  I was so shocked by what had just happened that I didn’t really know what to say, but she shrugged it off as an it-happens-to-best-of-us kind of thing.

We hung out for a while longer until we each headed our separate ways. My immediate thought was to text my friend to say “FELICIA DAY just PICKED my NOSE!” but as I was on a remote African island, my phone’s capabilities were rendered rather moot. I knew it wouldn’t be long before I had service again, so I put my phone away and headed back to the water for the trek home. I really couldn’t wait to tell the boys about this one.

3 Responses to “Dream a Little Dream of elephants, boogers, and Felicia Day.”

  1. Lydia :) August 3, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    The funny thing is that I was totally on board with this, from the very beginning. I was all, classrooms in the apartment? I’m down! It’s good to know I’m so up for the suspension of disbelief, because it makes life SO much more enjoyable. Though really, disbelief? PSH. All of this could totally happen. ALL OF IT. ❤

    • megnorris August 3, 2010 at 1:46 am #

      Haha, you should see the creatures I invented in my dream the night before! 😛

  2. Chelsea August 5, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    this is HILARIOUS! my favorite part is the bunnies making hair into bundles with their hind legs, and those bundles going to to those in need of hair. love it! XD
    and Felicia Day picked your nose?!? hahahahahahahahahahahaha! that is just… i love it. that’s just simple fantastic!

Leave a Reply

