Because it turns me on.

5 Aug

Let’s be honest; you don’t have to be good-looking to OOZE sex appeal.

The other day I was having a conversation with some friends and it came up that I think Steven Tyler is sexy. If you don’t know who Steven Tyler is, he is Aerosmith’s front man:

This revelation of mine was met with lots of “gross!” and “wtf?” and “maybe his daughter” and I just thought “No way! He’s soooooo hot! I’d hit it”

Now, I can understand why he isn’t sexually appealing to a lot of people. He’s getting old, he has the biggest mouth I’ve ever seen, he kind of looks like a monkey and he dresses kind of like a lunatic (if you don’t appreciate rock stars ;P). Plus there’s the whole he’s-probably-slept-with-a-million-women-and-done-every-drug-known-to-man thing.

I. Don’t. Care. I think he’s just so, so damn sexy. And I’d be lying if I said he didn’t appear in Meg’s Fantasyland every now and then (hey Randall, are you wanting to vomit yet?).

But for me his sex appeal doesn’t come from his looks. I mean, he’s in GREAT shape, especially considering what he’s put himself through, for a 62 year old (click here for the proof!). But it’s definitely not the body in that last link that makes me go nom nom nom. It’s the whole package (rather unfortunate phrasing, but it’s staying ;P).

The confidence, the fashion, the songwriting, the performing (I HIGHLY recommend seeing them live. Holy. Shit.), the attitude, the dodgy history, the energy, the rapport, the WHOLE that is Steven Tyler is what I find absolutely, irresistibly sexy. I’m sure this isn’t a unique experience. I’m sure there are people that, in your opinion, drip sex appeal but aren’t necessarily good-looking in your eyes. Or maybe you’ve NEVER seen them but they’re just. so. sexy (Clive anyone? #sointriguing #mysteryishot #hotnerdsexy). Similarly, there are an infinite number people people I’ve seen that I find to be good-looking, but I don’t think they’re sexy at all (page three girls, anyone?).

This post isn’t really about Steven Tyler despite my fangirling over him. People will always say that there’s more to someone than looks, that’s obvious, and that there is more that they’re attracted to than looks, again confidence, humor, opinions, beliefs, intelligence, kindness, etc. all play a far more important role in attraction than the physical (unless you’re in the cast of the Jersey Shore–see yesterday’s post), but I don’t often hear people talking about how those attributes are sexually appealing.  Maybe I am just odd. Maybe other people aren’t sexually attracted to people without being attracted to their bodies. But I don’t think I’m alone in this.

How about I quit going on and on and just go lie in bed and listen to some Aerosmith hmm? Mkay.

xx

9 Responses to “Because it turns me on.”

  1. futiledemocracy August 5, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    His daughter is hot, and oddly looks like him. So many mixed emotions!!!

    • megnorris August 5, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

      Haha, she DOES look like him 🙂

  2. Chelsea August 5, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    i get what you mean about someone’s… everything but their body being attractive. i’ve had a few crushes on people that i don’t necessarily find physically attractive.
    that said, i don’t care how hot a guy is. if he can’t make me laugh, i don’t want to be with him.
    …like, in a relationship. i’d probably hit that at least once.

  3. Lucy August 5, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Do you think it has anything to do with “Man-On-A-Stage Syndrome”? You know how if you put an already ok guy on a stage, he goes from ok to wow in 60 seconds?

    • megnorris August 6, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      About 30 last time I clocked it 😉

  4. Lydia :) August 5, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Roomhate was only into hyper-masculine dudes, and I spent all of last year listening to her go on and on about these HUGE guys. Seriously, she would only consider them if they were 6’8” and on steroids. It was super gross. I was always more into the dorky kids with glasses and…you know, a brain. I should probably just respect her right to be attracted to whatever she finds attractive but…I was just grossed out mostly. I don’t want that on me!

    • megnorris August 6, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      Ewwww. That IS gross. I wouldn’t want that on me either!

  5. Lili August 6, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    I totally get that. I mean I would do Bob Dylan now, twice. And really he’s looking way rougher than Steven Tyler. I just think that some people get who a person really is past the skin and others don’t(ie Jersey Shore)

    It’s to early to make a decent post. Sorry. You get the idea.

Leave a Reply

