Creative slump.

8 Aug

Ugh. First of all, this might hurt a little. Consider yourself warned, blog. Deep breath in anddddd breathe out…

I have spent the past two nights consuming entirely too much alcohol with some really wonderful people. Consequently, I spent the past two mornings/afternoons felling not too stellar. More on my weekend tomorrow perhaps, with pictures. Aside from the general nausea, spins, exhaustion, etc. that is typical of hangovers, I also get what I generally refer to as “the dumb”. My brain functions well enough to carry on with the normal daily tasks, but any expectations beyond that are, shall we say, optimistic? Fuck. My eye’s twitching. Hold on.

Okay. Hate when that happens. What was I talking about? RIGHT. Being stupid. Okay.

SO tonight I have to write a song or poem about one of my YouTube collab channels, Clive’s Angels as my weekly mission for the channel. When I learned of the mission I was EXCITED. I thought “This will be FUN! I’ll make a song and play it on guitar or make a track in GarageBand and it will be entertaining and YES!” But right now, I cannot do this for the life of me. I’ve been thinking about it on and off all weekend but I was (obviously) rather preoccupied and didn’t have time to do it. Tonight, my deadline, and when I’ve got time, I can’t make words work beyond basic communication. I’ve been working on it for hours and have seven shit lines. And there DEFINITELY won’t be music.

I also wanted to write a really fun blog today to make up for the last two and have pictures and humor and maybe some fiction and all sorts of glorious things. But alas. Nada. I’m in a MAJOR creativity slump today. And the fact that I still have to write this damned poem and make it public is SO embarrassing. It won’t be reflective of what I’m capable of at all and I just wish I make it work, but I can’t. And it pisses me off so much.

What do you do when your imagination just isn’t working and you have an immediate deadline, blogosphere? Do you try to extend it? Do you just do something that scrapes by and is less than mediocre to meet the deadline? Do you give up altogether?

Ugh. <– Really all I needed to type to express current state.

3 Responses to “Creative slump.”

  1. EddMiles August 8, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    You lost me at “too much alcohol”. Is that possible?

  2. Chelsea August 9, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    i always just do a mediocre job, and then when i’m feeling more creative, i make a point of returning to the scene of the crime and unleashing the awesome. like, to make up for the bad.
    and the good news is that most of your viewers on CA already know that you’re incredibly awesome! so, over all, no worries! ❤

  3. Lydia :) August 10, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    I feel this way every single day of my life. I mean, minus the intensely hungover part. I do not feel that way every single day of my life. But I know all about the soul-crushing lack of creativity. UGH.

    The good news is that in falling behind in my BEDA comments, I’ve now had the chance to see the final result and it wasn’t a creative misfire at all! HUZZAH! 😀

Leave a Reply

