Food and the constraints of reality

10 Aug

I’ve been inspired by Chelsea (what else is new, right?).

Chelsea begins each blog post with a little introductory sentence or paragraph, then posts a song for everyone to listen to while they read the rest of her blog. I like this. I will probably steal her idea from time to time. But it’s not the songs that inspired me, it’s the idea of the same daily feature. I’ve recently started a diet–well, not really, I’m just eating healthier, and I also have a habit of taking pictures of food (I’m a bit of a food addict) to send to my boyfriend or post on Twitter. These things combined in my mental melting pot to produce a BRILLIANT idea (for me that is, unfortunately not so much for you). SINCE I’m trying to make myself eat healthier, AND I frequently take pictures of my food, PLUS I have a daily blog, I think I’ll start each blog with a little picture or two of my daily grub, to keep myself accountable. Seriously, it would just be embarrassing if I ate like shit and did that ๐Ÿ˜› So, the debut (and I can’t for the life of me figure out why the pictures are different sizes… they’re not in the draft :s):

The first is curried potato nests witch is a ring of curry mash with beans, carrots, peppers and zucchini in the center with a little shredded cheese, and it was a late lunch so I had a light spinach/romaine/mandarin salad for dinner ๐Ÿ™‚

OKAY. Now that the massive explanation is over, the rest of the month should just be one or two pictures and a sentence or two (feel free to skip that bit if it’s too annoying ๐Ÿ˜› )

MOVING ON. On a completely unrelated note, last week I had a really weird dream wherein I was lying in the top bunk of a cottage bedroom, which had a window at bed level. I was trying to sleep but and rolled over to see that there were two “muskrats” pressed against the other side of the pane. They weren’t really muskrats, more like bats, only you couldn’t see their heads. It’s because their heads were tucked in, like a turtle’s might be. Only it was all the way down inside to the bottom of their abdomen, and you could tell because you could see the outline of their faces embossed through the very thin greyish skin of their stomachs.

At first I wasn’t concerned because they were on the other side of the window, but suddenly they just seemed to edge around and were on the inside. They wiggled their heads up through their cores to take their proper places. I paused, terrified, and one lunge forward, and latched onto the flesh between my left thumb and index finger.

Now, there was a lot more that happened, but it’s not really important. What I pondered when I woke up, was the absolutelyย amazing the things our minds are capable of creating when we let of go the restrictions we’re bombarded with in waking life. Sure, I have my days when I can conjure up some pretty damned imaginative things, but in dreams, these things just seem so normal and possible. I like worlds where the impossible is possible, and even natural.

Well, this post is already late, I’m blaming Chelsea because she called me and let me join her on her adventure to make butter beer while I write this (apparently it’s delicious :P) so I’m gonna post this now and apologize that it’s probably spilling over the top with errors, ack!

Cheers!

xx

5 Responses to “Food and the constraints of reality”

  1. Jessie August 11, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    YUMM!! I can tell already that your blog is going to make me hungry everyday. Also that dream was a bit creepy. I have a fear of looking out my window at night and something or someone being there.

    • megnorris August 11, 2010 at 12:26 am #

      I have that fear too. Last night I thought I saw a white figure floating past my window, looking in. Twice. I don’t think there was anything there, but it freaked me out :/

  2. scratchingcat August 11, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    All right, now you don’t only dazzle me with your prose, but also make me hungry.

    • megnorris August 11, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Aww, haha thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Come on over, I’ll make you something to eat ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Chelsea August 11, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    i love that your blog said more about me and my day than mine did! XD

    i like your idea with the food though. that is a great way to stay accountable. although i will probably be very hungry after reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

