Duh-rama, drama drama.

16 Aug

So yesterday I promised a good, legitimate blog post today. This isn’t going to be one of those.

I had an idea earlier of something I could write about that would be more interesting and important than the events of my day, but I forget what it is now. I also have been failing at food pics but, to be fair, I was at the cottage all weekend and all semblance of structure pretty much dies there (as it should, I think). I DID have a lovely relaxing weekend though.

Hmm… what to talk about. Well, I have a long list of things I could talk about on the #hotnerdsexy podcast. Far more than there will be time for. Perhaps I’ll throw one in here now. Ah yes, okay this one will do. Go read it. Go now (but come back!).

Okay, this is a topic that makes me feel ranty (fair warning: check.). My whole life I’ve never really had to deal with drama, with very few exceptions. And those exceptions, surprise surprise, have been with people who spread drama like guidos spread, well, take your pick. I enjoy stories. Obviously. We all do in some way. Some prefer more realistic fiction some prefer impossible fantasies, but the problem is that none of it is real life. No matter how good of a job the director does at passing it off as such.

So like I said, I enjoy stories, but I’ve never really felt really passionate about their plots. I’ve never tried to force a book or tv show onto my life to understand reality; I’ve never been one to have great expectations for a happy or dramatic ending (with some exceptions of course, I’m only human) and I believe subsequently I’ve been able to avoid a whole lot of drama, petty fights, and generally stupid, childish situations. I feel justly aware that my life is nothing special in the grand scheme of things, not too good, not too bad, and certainly not comparable to those created to market and entertain.

I’m not trying to toot my own horn here, so to speak, but I do think that Kurt Vonnegut has made a pretty good observations, based on my experience in comparison to those of the handful of people I mentioned above. What do you think? When things happen in your life do you compare them to the movies or your favorite tv shows? Do you think that’s a ridiculous pastime? From my personal observations, I believe it can only cause unnecessary drama, but I’m always open to other opinions. What are yours?

Until tomorrow, kittens!

xx

2 Responses to “Duh-rama, drama drama.”

  1. Lucy August 16, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    It does cause drama. I have a tendency to hang around and wait for the narrator of my life to chime in and let me know what to do next. So far, (s)he hasn’t…

    • megnorris August 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

      Ah, yes. Wouldn’t it be so nice to have a narrator to tell you your next move once in a while??

Leave a Reply

