A bit of metacognition, a little personal insight and reflection.

16 Nov

There are sporadic moments, when I’m able to make obscure and specific connections among ideas across subjects, that I get excited about my education–when I am able to use my personal prior knowledge to further insight or make connections between ideas that others might not have made, possibly ever–when I felt like some of those things I learned in the past would serve no purpose down the road. These moments are often too few and far between, but they are exciting and give me hope. I believe the sparsity of these moments speaks more about the frequently disconnected and disjointed education I am receiving than my ability to make connections. I have a great deal of confidence in my ability to form connections and create meaning–I think it is something I do quite well. Remembering this, and forcing myself to try to form connections, insight, and create meaning when perhaps none was intended can only help me to value and be more hopeful about, and satisfied with, my education.
(I’m too brilliant to let this opportunity go to waste because of factors as trivial as unthoughtful professors and irrelevant material.)

2 Responses to “A bit of metacognition, a little personal insight and reflection.”

  1. Sam November 16, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    I think you’ve discribed there why some people really do feel that schools get in the way of their education. Human brains are extreamly good at forming connections and this is the basis on some level of all learning. Baring the propensity of humans to sometimes make invalid causal connections this is an invaluable mental ability. It allows learning to be a truly holistic experience rather than as you’ve said you’re schooling has been from time to time, disconnected and bitty. Keep thinking Meg. This can only be a good thing.

  2. Chelsea December 5, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    here, here! :)#totalMegfan

Leave a Reply

