Condoms for all.

10 Dec

This morning I had to present some form of media construction in class. I opted to do a print ad because I knew it would take me the least amount of time. I started thinking about condom ads, and then looking them up online, and found ad after ad of more or less the same thing: Straight dude is the god to a slim, sexy, scantily clad, subservient female. There’s also the recurring theme of vulgarity which I will sum up in two images:

So, in typical Meg fashion, I get all annoyed that these advertisements seem to cater to the same dominant audience again and again (I mean honestly, why wouldn’t they cater to the biggest audience?), so I decided to create a condom ad of my own, with a bit of a different agenda and audience. It went over quite well with my class, so I thought I’d share it with you. 🙂

What do you think?

8 Responses to “Condoms for all.”

  1. shortpresents December 10, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    I think that you tackled a very necessary task. Advertisements in general seem to cater to a particular audience. I remember reading an article about how people who watch the most TV are the most judgmental, and prejudice towards the marginalized. What I will say though is that I love that fashion is turning towards androgyny; leaving clothing limitless where women and men can easily trade clothing.

    Clothing for all.
    Check out this post.
    http://juleofthenile.blogspot.com/2010/12/gender-benders-psychic-city.html

    xo
    miss kayla

    • megnorris December 10, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

      Thanks! And I totally agree. Androgyny FTW! 🙂

  2. c4clive December 10, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    I love the premise, but I don’t know about the material itself. The feet are not exactly the most beautiful parts of the anatomy.

  3. Chelsea December 10, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Meg, you are so sick awesome it’s RIDICULOUS!!! ❤

    i wish that were a real ad!

  4. Lydia :) December 13, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    Hey hey hey! I have definitely had some eye twitches over those first two ads before. My Women’s Studies (of course :P) class looked at them this summer. I get so… teeth gritting, fist clenching, seeing-red angry over them. Not only are they hetero-dominant… they’re just, as you said, vulgar. UGH.

    Anyway. I love this. I love you. Fab fab fab. (Unless some poor kid thinks putting two on is the way to go…then we could have problems.) This is the best. You are the best.

    • megnorris December 13, 2010 at 10:35 am #

      Ahaha, yes, that would be problematic, I had thought of that too 😛

  5. Alicia December 13, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Meg, I like the way you think! 🙂 I like it a lot!! I’d much rather see condom ads like that then the kind like you posted! Those are just so degrading, and disgusting.

Leave a Reply

