Oh. Hello BEDA.

1 Apr

So. It’s been a while. Nearly two months. I suck at blog. That being the case, on the suggestion of my genial and humorous friend Lydia, (seriously, read her blog, it’s spilling over with amusing anecdotes and rollicking rants), I shall be taking part in a little thing we like to call Blog Every Day in April. If I fail, we’ll say this declaration was just an April Fool’s joke. Now you’re hoping it really is, aren’t you?

I haven’t been partaking in my usual online social affairs as of late, and I’ve but one creature to blame: practicum.  For the past month and a half or so, I’ve been teaching grade 11 English at a local high school. This in itself wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t have to plan the curriculum and create all the resources and material to go with it, but alas, I do, so that is what I’ve been doing on my evenings and weekends, ergo, my lack of social existence.

Even though I still have 2 weeks left of full-time teaching, I decided I could make time to write a quick blog every day, or at least most days–I want to avoid the “Oh my god, it’s been a crazy day, I’m just barely squeezing this in before midnight and I had a great pizza for dinner, bye!” posts, so BEDA is likely destined to be a misnomer. ANYway…

I don’t know how long it’s been since you’ve been in a high school setting, but for me, prior to this year of course, it’s been about 6 years. That’s not a long time. Aside from technology or isolated initiatives, not a lot changes in just 6 years.  That being said, I can’t get over some of the differences between my high school experience and that of the students I’m teaching. The biggest one, which is really at the core of these differences, is a shift in attitude and respect.

Okay, so obviously my classmates and I weren’t perfect in high school, but by no means did we ever have the majority of the class doing our own thing and having our own conversations over the teacher while he or she was trying to teach. I don’t even think we did that with substitutes who were only in for one day. Maybe. Kick them out, some say, but what is one to do? Kick out a dozen kids?

Secondly, when did the attitude about high school become that it’s a nuisance and that participation and respect are optional? I can’t comprehend situations where students don’t work in class, therefore don’t hand in assignments, and conclude by whining about the work? Maybe I should just stop allowing students time to do work in class? But lectures aren’t the way to go either… I’m not sure what the middle ground should be.

That being said, I do have some really great, motivated and respectful students. And it’s so nice to work with teens who, for the most part, a) care about succeeding, b) are nice, respectful, decent people and c) take enough responsibility for their own work that I have time to actually be myself, instead of a nagging babysitter.

But enough of my complaining about my unpaid job, tomorrow shall bring a new topic, a decidedly more positive topic. In which case, I’m totally open to suggestions.

Until then,

Meg xx

2 Responses to “Oh. Hello BEDA.”

  1. Lydia :) April 2, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    I am so excited that you’re BEDAing!! I’ve missed you!

    Momster works in an elementary school, and has for a very long time. It’s really interesting to hear her talk about the attitude changes moving through different generations. Every year, she says, the kids get worse and worse, and the group of polite and respectful kids dwindles. I know you already know all of this, since you’re living it in practicum…but I think it’s such an interesting commentary on our society… and stuff. xD

    I can’t wait to see you tomorrow! 😀 ❤ (scrotum)

    • megnorris April 2, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      I’m glad to know I’m not just crazy!

Leave a Reply

