Teaching causes bipolar disorder. Fact.

7 Apr

Okay, so not really, but sometimes I feel it’s like having bipolar disorder.

Yesterday when I came home from teaching I wanted to lie down, curl up, and not go back again. I had a bad day. I was fed up.

All afternoon today I was on cloud nine. I was greeting everyone with singsong hellos and was practically skipping through the halls. I had my final evaluation form my supervisor (click to enlarge, if you wish):

See those check marks in the “E” column? “E” stands for “Exceeds expectations”.

Squeee!

Getting back to my point, it doesn’t surprise me how many teachers burn out so quickly. Between the amount of work, the stress of planning, the pressure of the overlords, and the emotional roller-coaster of mania, depression, mania, anger, mania, depression, frustration, mania–you get the idea, it’s enough to make a person go crazy.

That aside, the students’ presentations were AWESOME today, and I’ve asked a few of them to upload them to YouTube 🙂 More to come on that.

Hope you all had as lovely a Thursday as I! Until tomorrow!

xx

10 Responses to “Teaching causes bipolar disorder. Fact.”

  1. Sam April 7, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Wish I could read more of the joined up writing on your evaluation but I gather it was generally good. 🙂

    • megnorris April 7, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      Reading cursive is a good thing to be able to do. It’s funny, yesterday I was talking to another teacher about it and she says every year when she hands back the first assignment with her comments on it someone says “Miss, I can’t read this kind of writing.” to which she replies “Well if you’re planning on spending the term here I suggest you learn.” haha. In any case, it says, “All the time and effort you put into designing your project has definitely paid off with these presentations. I think the kids really enjoyed doing this. Good work, Meg.”

      She also sent me an e-mail this evening that says, “Meg,

      I just wanted to express to you, what fine work came from those young students today. The old cliche, you reap what you sow, is true in your case.
      The project was so well designed, it had to be successful for them, and in turn successful for you.
      Great work Meg, Enjoy your last week with the children.
      Cheers, Millie”

      Yayy!

      • Sam April 7, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

        It had more to do with the fact it was rather small on the screen but were I in that teacher’s class I might say “Are you going to teach me then or will I have to put up with caligraphy and a bad attitude all term?” You on the other hand seem to have really shined. 🙂

        Congratulations Meg

        • megnorris April 7, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

          No way! Her attitude is AWESOME. These kids need someone like her. Everyone else is constantly bending over backwards to cater to their every babyish little whine and complaint. Which are not few.

  2. Sam April 7, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    So basically if you’re too stupid to understand how I do things its you’re own look out. I’ve come across that attitude before. Its probably not originally how she meant it but it just came across as a bit…sarky.

    • megnorris April 7, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

      Oh she meant to be snarky. It’s ridiculous how many students here don’t understand cursive, considering it’s a more efficient way to write and is still taught in a lot of elementary schools. And the general attitude of I’d say about half of the students is to whine and complain about anything that isn’t catered t them in little bite-size chunks on silver platters with the crusts cut off. It blows my mind. Example, no 17 year old student should whine and complain about having to write a paragraph with supporting details in grade eleven English.

  3. Lydia :) April 8, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    I think COLLEGE does this, too. I had such a great day, in the beginning. I was happy and cheerful, and everything went generally well, but by the end of the day I was just upset and emotional and wanted to cry and nap. Instead I stared an essay for five hours. I hope it’s just a feeling and we’re not actually manic.

    • megnorris April 8, 2011 at 12:19 am #

      Oh, college! It definitely does!

  4. Jo April 8, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    hey there
    Congratulations on your evaluation! Awesome job, it had to feel amazing to read that.

  5. Chelsea April 8, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    yay! so glad you got an awesome evaluation! 😀

Leave a Reply

