Baby landmark.

12 Apr

So. It’s 12:30am right now, as I write this, and at 12:29am I believe I finished up what should be that last bit of prep work I have to do for my practicum. There will certainly be a little more on-the-fly modifications, revamping, and adjusting for time between now and Friday, but, for the most part, I believe I’m done.

I just finished making some questions for my students to answer while watching the film Milk, to make connections between their views, the social activism/advocacy writing unit we’re wrapping up in the morning and, of course, the movie. I’m excited to show it because I think it’s a topic everyone should be exposed to (obviously, I mean if you’re reading this, there’s a good chance you know where I stand on the LGBTQ rights map), and because it just fits so well right now. As I’ve mentioned, I just had them doing some social action writing (creating change.org style petition documents and letters to well-targeted decision-makers), it’s a great platform for me to talk about the importance of every person’s educated vote as we have an election coming up in a few weeks and the students old old enough to vote in a year’s time, and lastly, next month is International Day Against Homophobia and Harvey Milk Day (in California).

I never saw Milk before yesterday, and I’m so glad I decided to watch it. I knew a little bit about the man, that he was the first openly gay man to hold significant office in the US and that he was assassinated, but I didn’t really know much else. I fell in love watching the movie because of the fact that he was involved in defeating a bill that would have prevented LGBT teachers (and their supporters) from teaching in public schools there. After watching the film I did more research, knowing I wanted to show it to my class and found out that he actually began his career as a high school teacher, getting his degree at 21 and teaching for a few years. I shouldn’t have been surprised.

In any case, I’m excited about showing it to them, and even though I’m not giving a big assignment on it, I don’t care. I only have two class periods and I wasn’t about to assign anything else, since I’ll have about sixty three-part assignments to mark Thursday night as well as a high-school performance of Doctor Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog to see. Sometimes it’s okay to show a film in class just for it’s content and the connections to wrap up a unit, right?

In any case, tonight was my baby landmark, and I shouldn’t have to create any more resources or documents or anything like that, except maybe a rubric to mark all those assignments, now that I think about it…

Wah.

Until tomorrow!

xx

One Response to “Baby landmark.”

  1. Lydia :) April 13, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    The year Milk was up for an Academy Award was one of the last years I was really vested in film/had the time to follow it, and that year I truly cared about the nominees. That year was also, in my opinion, a year with one of the BEST set of nominees. But… when Milk didn’t win I was so upset. I know it’s a silly thing to be upset about, but I was really angry that such a beautiful and important film didn’t win. HOLY WOW, though, I don’t know if you’ve seen Sean Penn’s acceptance speech for Best Actor in Milk– AWESOME.

    /ramble

Leave a Reply

