Strange times.

13 Apr

This week is bizarre.

For the past couple of months my days have revolved around lesson planning, prep work, developing resources, planning activities, etc. and now that I only have two days left and no planning to do, it feels so strange.

Speaking of Strange, I’ve recently discovered a wicked new Canadian comedy-drama series called Being Erica. Erica Strange begins seeing a rather peculiar therapist who asks her to make a list of all the regrets in her life (a long list, it is) and then, of course, he has the ability to send her back to those times, one per episode, that allows her to either change something or learn something that is beneficial to her present situation. It sounds super lame but it’s actually really good, and reminds me a lot of the Gilmore Girls. It’s got an intimate cast and the style and characters remind me a lot of those of Amy Sherman-Palladino. If you Netflix, I recommend giving it a try at least for a few episodes 🙂

Today I got my final evaluation from my supervisor and one of my two cooperating teachers for my practicum and both gave me such amazing reviews. I won’t go into all the details but it was so nice hearing from both of them that they feel confident that I’m more than ready to go out and be an excellent teacher, and that schools need more teachers like me. Their confidence in me was so validating and affirming, especially since I wasn’t really sure how I was doing. It gave me more confidence that, you know, perhaps I can do this. 🙂

Well, I asked Ran if he wanted to go to bed a half an hour ago and now he’s in bed and I’m still out here typing, so I shall be off to slumberland. Ooh! Maybe I’ll find Nemo! (Not the fish. Look up Little Nemo’s Adventures in Slumberland and watch it!)

Until tomorrow!

xx

2 Responses to “Strange times.”

  1. Lydia :) April 14, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    YAY! 😀

    This question is probably silly, and is actually related to your video, not this post… why is it bad for people in your apartment to know you teach? Did you just want to keep work and personal time separate? I feel like it’s a super obvious answer that I’m just missing. But it sounds like you’re such a rock star, being recognized and such!

    That’s all! See you tomorrow!

    • megnorris April 14, 2011 at 7:53 am #

      You know the scene in Mean Girls when Janis is like ‘Ooh, I love seeing teaching teachers outside of school. It’s like seeing a dog walk on its hind legs.”? Well it’s kind of like that. I find teachers a re judged more harshly than others. People seem to have the expectation that teachers fit in a little box and never do anything unteachery, if you know what I mean. So when I’m just around my apartment, bitching about something in the parking lot, getting the mail as a hungover mess, picking my nose, whatever, it might be perceived differently than if I were someone else, and the people talk. Which is just annoying.

Leave a Reply

