A new day.

15 Apr

I didn’t write yesterday because I was up marking until after 2 and I had to be up at 7:30 this morning. That’s that.

Today was the last day of my practicum. The last of my real responsibilities of six years worth of post-secondary education. Seems too unreal and ridiculous if I look at it that way. That being said, it was a great day (with a ridiculous fiasco at lunch…perhaps I’ll share that story another time, once I’ve figured out how to share it gracefully). My last class was with an amazing group of students, we finished watching Milk, had pizza and cake, chatted and hung out, they gave me a card, I got swag from the school (mug, book light, mini flashlight, pen, and a Staple’s easy button from one of my mentor teachers), and it was just a great way to wrap up.

I’ve definitely seen myself grow over the past couple of months (not just from the embarrassing amounts of Domino’s and Starbucks, either). I learned not to take myself so seriously, got way better an managing my time even though it sometimes meant sacrificing a great lesson for a good one (sometimes you just have to take a break!), and after the past few months, I feel pretty confident in my abilities as a teacher. That’s a big step for me; I’ve never had any kind of self-confidence.

Tonight I could be out partying with some of my colleagues who finished up their practica today as well, but I don’t really feel like partying. I’m content sitting here, in the dimly lit living room, with Randall watching Netflix in the corner and Seguin flopped face down on his bed, dead to the world, and myself plopped onto the couch with a glass of wine , tostitos and salsa con queso. Maybe I’ll get back into Harry Potter later. Who knows.

Tomorrow continues with plans of its own, but for now, I think I’ll enjoy a boring night of internal peace and silent celebration.

Until then,

xx

2 Responses to “A new day.”

  1. Lydia :) April 15, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    🙂

    I’m so happy for you, Meg-Star.

  2. Sam April 15, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Well done Meg. This has been a long time coming. I wish I were there to celebrate with you but I shall have to make do with wishing you well and raising a glass to your future success. (Also I want all the gory details of that story when next you’re back on skype. 😉

Leave a Reply

