Such a slacker, but a happy one.

19 Apr

I’ve often said that the people with the least amount of free time get more done in their free time than people with far less busy lives. I am a perfect example of this right now.

For the first half of the month, even though I was still super busy with lesson planning and preparing for practicum, I found time to write a blog every day (except one, and I had a legitimate reason). Now, I don’t have practicum, which means my evenings and weekends are free, and instead of taking the fifteen minutes or half hour it would take to blog every day I’ve been sitting and watching Blossom, Being Erica and Jem and the Holograms for hours.

I don’t know why this is. Perhaps because it’s the first time in months that I haven’t had a high-stress, all-consuming commitment keeping me high strung and buzzing busily. Perhaps now that I’ve got a bit of a lull I want to take advantage of being extra lazy. I don’t want to make it a habit, however. Also, with the lack of stuff going on, I don’t really feel I have much to write about. Maybe once my mind gets back to thinking about real stuff again 😛

In other words, right now, all I want to do is just be lazy. I want to snack and watch tv and drink beer and chat with friends all day. I don’t want to do any work (unless I’m being paid! More on that later.), but on the bright side, I do want to go out with friends. That sounds silly and, like, thank-you Captain Obvious! but when I get a little depressed or down or in a funk, I never want to go do stuff. I’d rather sit inside alone all day and night. It makes me feel happy and hopeful that I’ve simultaneously got a little more time for myself now and am not depressed.

I don’t know how to make that sound less mundane or “duh” or make sense to everyone, but if you’ve ever been really depressed in both high-pressure and low-pressure situations, I’m sure you know exactly what I mean. SO GOOD. 🙂

Until tomorrow (when I promise not to drag you through a rolling landscape of tangents and asides),

xx

Leave a Reply

